Louis Thompson

Seven Stages of Degradation

Unique Piece

Not customisable

Certificate of authenticity included

Product tear sheet download


Seven Stages of Degradation is a unique art glass installation of seven components by the British artist Louise Thompson and the British designer Sophie Thomas. Each piece is solid glass with internal colored detail and trapped bubbles. Each topped with a found beach plastic cap. An ongoing body of work with the first set exhibited as part of the Summer Exhibition 2018, at the Royal Academy London. The artwork's aim is to highlight the current serious issue of ocean plastic. Although not essenti...

Read more

Width: 80 cm (31.5 in)

Height: 32 cm (12.6 in)

Depth: 11 cm (4.33 in)



United Kingdom

London, UK

Accomplished glass artist Louis Thompson explores illusion and the perceptions of glass, fascinated by the haptic experience in art and sculpture. He works with molten glass, sometimes sabotaging the material: twisting, creasing, buckling and collapsing the glass. The works have underlying themes of the human body; sensuous, tactile, echoing folds, curves and creases. With simplicity and purity of materials, he plays with the viewers’ comprehension of what is put before them, often creating co...

Read more